top of page

Cathedral Chapter

The "Chapter" of the Cathedral is a committee established under the Diocesan Governance Ordinance to assist the Dean of the Cathedral in developing and implementing the mission and ministry of the Cathedral within the Diocese of Grafton, the wider community, and the life of the Anglican Communion.


The Chapter works to develop the Cathedral as a place where the Five Marks of Mission are promoted and pursued. In addition, Chapter seeks to assist schools and other ministry units across the Diocese to develop their own ministry activities around these key mission objectives:


  • To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom

  • To teach, baptise and nurture new believers

  • To respond to human need by loving service

  • To transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind and pursue peace and reconciliation

  • To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation, and sustain and renew the life of the earth


The current members of Chapter are:


(a) The Right Revd Dr Murray Harvey,  Bishop of Grafton (President of the Chapter);

(b) The Very Revd Dr Gregory Jenks, Dean of Grafton (Chair of the Chapter);

(c) The Venerable Tiffany Sparks, Diocesan Archdeacon;

(d) Mr Chris Nelson, Registrar;

(e) Four Clerical Canons;

(i)  The Revd Canon Naomi Cooke (elected by the House of Clergy at Synod 2020)

(ii) The Revd Canon Mike Ridge (elected by the House of Clergy at Synod 2020),

(iii)  The Revd Canon John Barrett (appointed by the Bishop in 2020), and

(iv)  The Venerable Zoe Everingham (appointed by the Dean in 2020).

(f) Four Lay Canons;

(i) Canon Terry Shorten (elected by the House of Laity at Synod 2020),

(ii) Canon Professor Robert Weatherby (elected by the House of Laity at Synod 2020),

(iii) Canon Heather McKinnon (appointed by the Bishop in 2021), and

(iv)  Canon Phillip Bonser (appointed by the Dean in 2020).

(g) Mrs Lyn Johnston (Cathedral Churchwarden nominated by the Cathedral Parish Council). 



The Chapter of the Cathedral has the following functions:


(a)  development and fostering of the Ministry of the Cathedral within the Diocese;

(b)  promoting and safeguarding the place and function of the Cathedral as the parent church of the Diocese for Diocesan and civic services;

(c) assisting in facilitating the Cathedral’s wider ministry especially in the areas of evangelism, education, ecumenical endeavour, media communication, public witness, music and the arts;

(d)  to be available as possible facilitators of occasional major Diocesan events whether worship, learning or Synodical;

(e)  advocating to all members of the Diocesan family the responsibility of all for maintenance of the Cathedral;

(f)  to be available to the Bishop for consultation and resource. 

bottom of page